Parliament, George Clinton, funk, p-funk, up for the down stroke, chocolate city, James Brown, vinyl record, album release, white label records Singapore, vinyl turntable, record turntable #vinyloftheday, vinyl of the day, singapore community radio, sgcr, white label records, discogs, record store, record shop, record store singapore, record shop singapore, vinylhub, vinyl hub, asia, singapore, music, cafe in singapore, record store bar singapore, record store cafe singapore, ann siang road, the esplanade Singapore

Parliament reissue two classic albums from the 70s on vinyl

Parliament, the George Clinton-fronted collective cemented their legacy as funk lords in the 70s. They created funk music that dissolved barriers leading to the creation of their own genre, P-Funk. It served as inspiration for Talking Heads as it did for Dr. Dre.

Parliament reissues two classic albums on vinyl. The 1974 sophomore LP ‘Up for the Down Stroke’ and Parliament’s third record, 1975’s ‘Chocolate City’. ‘Up for the Down Stroke’ is a mix of soulful material and funky gospel rhythms. ‘Chocolate City’ has shades of James Brown’s precise funk delivered by Bootsy’s bass lines.

Check out the artwork and tracklists below.


Up For The Down Stroke

1. Up For The Down Stroke
2. Testify
3. The Goose
4. I Can Move You (If You Let Me)
5. I Just Got Back (From The Fantasy: Ahead Of Our Time In The Four Lands Of Elliot)
6. All Your Goodies Are Gone
7. Whatever Makes Baby Feel Good
9. Presence Of A Brain

Chocolate City

1. Chocolate City
2. Ride On
3. Together
4. Side Effects
5. What Comes Funky
6. Let Me Be
7. If It Don’t Fit (Don’t Force It)
8. I Misjudged You
9. Big Footin’

The records are available now via Universal Music imprint Urban Legends.
Head here for more info