Nas, It was written, rap, Illmatic, Billboard, Nasir, vinyl record, album release, record store Asia, vinyl record, album release, white label records Singapore, vinyl turntable, record turntable #vinyloftheday, vinyl of the day, singapore community radio, sgcr, white label records, discogs, record store, record shop, record store singapore, record shop singapore, vinylhub, vinyl hub, asia, singapore, music, cafe in singapore, record store bar singapore, record store cafe singapore, ann siang road, the esplanade Singapore, white label records, white label records Singapore, record store, record store Asia, record store Singapore

Nas’ It Was Written album gets first vinyl reissue since its original release

Nas’ It Was Written sophomore album gets its first vinyl reissue this September since its original release. The New York rapper released his second LP in 1996. It featured production credits that include DJ Premier, Dr. Dre, Havoc, L.E.S, Live Squad, Trackmasters, and Rashad Smith. This album was the follow up to Nas’ meteoric debut Illmatic that was released in 1994. It Was Written was not hard up for top-tier guests either, featuring major guest turns from Lauryn Hill and Joel “JoJo” Hailey of K-Ci & JoJo. It also introduced the world to The Firm, the brief Nas-led supergroup featuring rappers AZ, Foxy Brown, and Cormega. 

Not only was It Was Written received warmly by critics, but it became a major commercial success. Reaching the top of the Billboard 200 charts. Achieving platinum sales status four times, and appearing alongside albums like Raekwon’s Only Built 4 Cuban Linx, helped usher in the era of mafioso rap in the mainstream. It proved to be a major influence on artists like Kendrick Lamar, Lupe Fiasco, and many more. It Was Written has become the most commercially successful album in the entirety of Nas’ discography. Nas’ has also dropped his latest and 11th studio album last year titled Nasir.

It Was Written will be released as 2xLP standard black and limited clear vinyl editions. The limited clear edition is hand-numbered with only 1000 copies available worldwide. It will be packaged with a commemorative OBI strip.

Head here for more info and check out the artwork and tracklist below.


01. Album Intro
02. The Message
03. Street Dreams
04. I Gave You Power
05. Watch Dem Niggas (featuring Foxy Brown)
06. Take It in Blood
07. Nas Is Coming (featuring Dr. Dre)
08. Affirmative Action (featuring The Firm)
09. The Set Up (featuring Havoc)
10. Black Girl Lost (featuring Joel JoJo Hailey)
11. Suspect
12. Shootouts
13. Live Nigga Rap (featuring Mobb Deep)
14. If I Ruled the World (Imagine That) (featuring Lauryn Hill)

Photo Credit: Kevin Scanlon